World Water Day

Standard

Today is World Water Day! And if I am going to be completely honest with you, I’m unsure if I had heard of WWD until yesterday. It’s nothing too brand new either, not sure where I have been. Of course, I have come to realize that I was quite unaware of many things until these past few months. But that is a story for another day.

I do vaguely remember there being a day here and there that conserving water was more emphasized, so I’ll chalk that up to my first run ins with WWD. World Water Day can definitely be observed in that way. But I am choosing to celebrate it by participating in The Adventure Project’s effort to raise $10,000 for clean water in India.

The Adventure Project’s website outlines it: “One third of all hand pumps installed in the last twenty years in developing countries are now broken. And 4,000 children die every day because of lack of clean drinking water. We feel that’s unacceptable. So we’re thinking differently. Instead of drilling more wells, we’re using our charitable gifts for something revolutionary – to train and employ hand pump mechanics. The mechanics earn an income, bringing themselves out of poverty, and they save lives – turning water back on for thousands of people each year.”

That is exciting to me! Not only bringing clean water, but sustainable income to provide for families and communities.

I am donating $20 this morning toward this campaign. I am asking 10 of you to donate $20 as well, bringing them that much closer to their goal of $10,000. If they reach $10,000, the money will be matched! $20,000 will bring 7,200 people clean water each year!! Even if you can’t give $20, I encourage you to give something today and in the future. Help bring clean water to families around the world to safeguard them from preventable diseases.

You don’t have to tell me how much, but comment below and let me know if you donate. (Just for my own curiosity!)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

