A simple, harmless prayer

Standard

I am sitting here researching The Abba Fund, a not for profit organization that gives interest free loans to couples trying to adopt. I am reading over their website and I click on the “How You Can Help” tab and find myself reading this section over and over.

  • Pray for the orphan.
  • Pray for those caring for them temporarily.
  • Pray for adoptive families.
  • Pray for churches.
  • Pray for us as we seek to help orphans by helping families and churches make adoption a reality.
  • Pray about what God would have you do.

The last one sticks out to me. “Pray about what God would have you do.” What he would have me do. It’s something that I have been going over and over in my head this past week. And if you really think about it, it’s a bold statement. What he would have you do; not if he would have you do something. Last weekend I heard Esther Havens, a humanitarian photographer, speak about a major shift in her life from simply taking pictures to getting involved in those people’s stories and doing something about them. She said, “Adoption is a calling, but orphan care is a mandate for everyone.” So, I guess it’s just something God’s doing int me right now, but it’s something that I would encourage you to think about and pray about as well. There’s much to be done and if we would pray that simple line, what amazing things might happen?

Leave a Reply

