Sovereignty in Principle; Sovereignty in Practice

Standard

Justin and I attended a 5 hour conference this past Saturday entitled, “A Future and a Hope Adoption and Foster Care Conference.” I didn’t know what to expect, but I was excited none the less. Going into the conference that morning I thought my plans of attending Idea Camp: Orphan the following weekend had fallen through and I had made peace with it, thinking that since I was going to this one, I would not feel the need to go as much to the next one. But, I was wrong. Maybe an hour into the conference I asked Justin for his computer and started looking for cheap enough ways to get there. (I’m not sure if I saw Sherry’s new blog post with the picture of her adorable baby girl before or after the rental car sites, but it only fueled my desire to find a way to get there.) When I was finished estimating the final cost and was approaching $400, I sat back and asked Justin what he thought. I was struggling with spending the money, even though we got a very nice tax refund and had the money in the bank. Was this the right thing to spend it on? Was I supposed to save it? I finally said to God, “Okay, sorry I tried to take this out of your hands, I’ll stop being dumb and just give it back to you now.” I decided, okay, I’m gonna do it, no matter the cost to me.

Justin and I had planned to go out on a lovely date that night (which included BBQ and bloodshed in the form of my beautiful tattoo) and we ended up hanging out with some new-ish friends (Russell and Elora, who I was originally planning on riding with) in the middle of it. That’s when I was told that the plan to go was back on and also I’d probably have a place to stay. I got so excited that when I got home I immediately registered for the conference, which was now up to $109 for the procrastinators. 🙂 As I was getting ready to put in my credit card info, I saw the place for a discount code and just thought, hey, I’ll google it and see if anything comes up. So right there at the top was a code and boom, total cost – $59. So from Saturday afternoon to Saturday night I went from thinking I was going to be spending somewhere around $400 to maybe spending $150 when it’s all said and done. Not to mention that I don’t have to worry about the boys at all because two incredible ladies, Sara Beth & Amanda K, are going to watch them while I am gone and Justin’s at work! (Have I ever told you how much I love my Soma family? Cause I do, big time.)

So, I guess that this is a lesson that I’ve had before and I’ll probably have again and again in the future. When we stop and give it all to Him, stop trying to fix it ourselves and all that mess, He has his way and He works things out the way He wants to. And of course the way He wants to isn’t always what we wanted or how we thought we’d get it, but it’s His way. Isaiah 55:8-9 – “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD. 9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

All I know is, God is awesome, no matter what I was going to end up doing this weekend, but I’m stoked to be going to Idea Camp Orphan!!

3 responses »

  1. so glad it worked out! bummed I won’t be able to make it, there is a large community of folks in NW Arkansas who have adopted from Ethiopia. I was looking forward to connecting with them. Take lots of notes for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

